Vegetarian chili wraps

Standard

I spent work today sitting in a sunbeam next to a window through which came a light breeze. It’s summer! Life is good! OK, ironically literally as I wrote this the sky has turned from blue to grey and it has started raining. From this I could derive some kind of life lesson about taking things for granted, or maybe something about the greatest joys being brief, but in truth I don’t really think I’m interested in that and it’s kind of trite. Plus, it doesn’t change anything! I still had a lovely day, and I still used that lovely day as an opportunity to make a lovely summery dinner. For me, this means wraps. I love wraps. I could eat a million of them, preferably with a tasty and nutritious filling, but I’m not picky. I can eat them with Marmite. I can just rip into them plain. I crave them.

Warning: you will make a mess when eating these wraps. Do not eat them in front of people you want to impress. Eat them in front of people you can laugh with. Everyone makes a mess in a different way. I catapulted vegetables over the table, my lap and the floor as I ate mine. My husband somehow managed to make all the tomato juice come out of the bottom of his. It’s a voyage of discovery. Don’t wear a white t-shirt.

Ingredients:
1 tin of kidney beans, drained
1 tin of chopped tomatoes
1 large white onion
2 cloves of garlic
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp mild chilli powder
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 tin sweetcorn, drained
200g cherry tomatoes
1 large avocado, or 2 small avocados
a handful of fresh parsley
grated cheese to serve (optional)
tortillas

Makes 6 wraps
Calories: 340
Takes 20-25 minutes to make

Stage one: Finely chop the onion, crush the garlic, and cook them in a saucepan over a medium heat until the onion has gone translucent. This should take about 5 minutes. Then, add in the chopped tomatoes, kidney beans, chilli powder, coriander and cumin. Season to taste. Give everything a stir, reduce the heat to low, and leave it to do its thing while you prep the rest of the veg.

Stage two: Chop the avocado and halve the cherry tomatoes. I know you don’t need to halve the cherry tomatoes, but I find it hard enough to eat wraps as it is without spraying tomato all over the place. Combine them in a bowl with the sweetcorn and parsley and give everything a mix.

chilisalad2

Stage three: Put the wraps together! Dollop in the centre a sixth of the bean mix, then spoon over some salad, and finally sprinkle some grated cheese on top (if you like). Accept that as you are going to make a colossal mess, and enjoy.

chiliwrap

Leave a comment