Sour cream quiche

Standard

I’m kind of a control freak in the kitchen. Partly this is because most of what I make is really easy and only requires one person, so to integrate a second person into the process usually involves significant amounts of added time as I explain to them what they need to do and generally natter. This process also amplifies the risk of me injuring myself, which is sadly already very high. However, moving in with someone has made me realise that I am also an ingredients control freak. I plan my recipes a few days in advance and write a list, and sometimes I hand that list to Robbie to do my shopping for me, and sometimes the stores don’t stock all the ingredients on said list and he gets a bit creative, which means that sometimes I need to totally rethink what I’m making. In this case, soured cream was substituted for creme fraiche. This led me to a bit of a dilemma, because I’m perfectly happy dolloping low fat creme fraiche onto everything, but pouring an entire container of soured cream into a very buttery pastry case was a bit intimidating for me (and my arteries). And then I got over it, because it’s yummy. And there’s sweetcorn! I love sweetcorn!

creamquiche

Ingredients:
300g shortcrust pastry
300ml soured cream
1 tin sweetcorn
2 red onions
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp vegetable oil
2 eggs

Serves 6
Calories per serving: 400
Takes 2 hours to make

Stage one: Thinly slice the onions and then put them in a saucepan with the balsamic vinegar and vegetable oil. Cook over a low heat, stirring occasionally, while you deal with the pastry – the longer the better!

Stage two: Preheat the oven to 190C/fan170C. Roll out the shortcrust pastry and lay it in a 20cm tart case, pressing it into the edges. Cover with a sheet of greaseproof paper and cover with baking beans, then blind bake in the oven for 20 minutes. Then remove from the oven and pour the baking beans back into their container, and return to the oven for 10 minutes until the pastry is biscuit brown.

tartcase

Stage three: Spread out the onions over the bottom of the pastry case.

onionlayerquiche

Stage four: In a bowl, mix the soured cream, sweetcorn, eggs and lots of seasoning. Pour the mixture over the top of the onions in the case, being careful it doesn’t spill over the top of the pastry.

prebakequiche

Stage five: Pop in the oven and bake for about 30 minutes until the top has gone golden. It tastes good hot, and amazing cold!

bakedcreamquiche

3 responses »

  1. Looks so delicious and really beautiful, but I don’t like sweetcorn. Wonder if it would work with fresh green peas, especially as they’re still in season but not at their very best? Asparagus if feeling seriously rich or having a supermarket sell-off windfall. I think a less high-cal version could be achieved with goats’ milk yoghurt instead of the sour cream, though not nearly as delicious…..

    • I bet green peas would work, just like sweetcorn they don’t tend to react too much to the surrounding ingredients when you cook with them and I think they’d make a fun colour contrast. You’re right about the yoghurt, although I’m not sure how it would affect the consistency.

  2. I tried goats’ milk yoghurt on a sort of pizza-like dough base topped with asparagus tips, and also mixed with egg. It worked beautifully. Goats’ milk is much better for cooking than any other type of yoghurt I’ve tried; it behaves similarly to creme fraiche.

    By the way, I loved the bit about Robbie’s shopping outcomes. You do realise that going out with a list and coming back with not quite the thing you asked for is written into the Ketubah, don’t you? You know, that bit about “will support you after the manner of Jewish husbands.” That’s what “after the manner of Jewish husbands” really means. I’m sure there’s a nice Gemara or two about it somewhere. My dad always used to do it and he grew up in an authentic Polish shtetl. I often encounter lost Jewish husband souls wandering about with lists in Kosher Paradise and I try and tell them what their wives mean by what’s on the list. They usually seem a lot happier after that.

Leave a Reply

