Single serving apple crumble

Standard

People give you a lot of advice about what to look for in a partner. They should share your sense of humour, want the same things out of life, maybe even be a nice person, blah blah. You know what nobody told me to look for? Someone who actually likes the same foods as me. It’s not that bad. He likes cheese, chocolate and sweetcorn, which covers 3 of my top 5 favourite foods. Sadly, he hates sushi and apple crumble. Normally when he doesn’t like foods I’m fond of I cover them in baked cheese or chocolate and he eats them anyway like the good husband he is, but that doesn’t work with sushi and crumble. Tragic, I know. On the other hand, it means that there’s an upside to when he’s away overnight – dinner can be a feast of the foods I never get to eat when he’s around. I’m not going to tell you how I made the sushi, there are far better sushi making guides out there than anything I could put together. However, this single serving apple crumble is decadent and wonderful. It made up for the fact that despite how I generally love watching thunderstorms and torrential rain, I was actually a bit scared of how extreme the weather got tonight. I’m pretty sure a car on my road got struck by lightning. There were giant hailstones. The lights flickered. The room shook. But I had crunchy golden comfort in a pot, and now the world is well again.

For a less decadent but also less diet-busting version of this crumble, you can halve the amounts of butter, sugar and flour.

Ingredients:
1 regular eating apple
2 tbsp cold butter
2 tbsp brown sugar
4 tbsp plain flour
cinnamon

Serves 1
Calories: 480
Takes 15 minutes to make, 25 minutes to cook

Stage one: Preheat the oven to 180C/fan160C. Peel the apple and chop it into squares of about an inch in size. Put the apple in a pan with a splash of water and a pinch of cinnamon, and cook it over a low heat for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and adding a splash more water if it starts to burn.

crumbleapples

Stage two: While the apple is cooking, combine the butter, sugar, flour and a pinch more cinnamon in a bowl, rubbing the mixture between your fingers until it has turned into breadcrumbs. If the mixture is too floury, add a little more butter; if it’s too buttery, add a little more flour. Simple.

crumbletopping

Stage three: Put the apple in a ramekin, then gently press the crumble topping over it. Put it the oven for 25 minutes until the top has gone golden. Eat carefully, because the ramekin will stay hot.

crumble

One response »

  1. Haha I currently live with my friends in a share house and they love a lot of the same things I do such as chocolate and cake. However, they’re not such big fans of fruit, whereas I love it, especially in baking, so whenever I bake anything with fruit in, I have to eat it all (which isn’t a bad thing, but probably not so good for my waistline!!)

Leave a Reply

