Comforting pasta with tomato and (veggie) sausage sauce

Standard

I keep moving back the boundaries of what I call adulthood. It used to be getting a job, and then it was graduating, and then it was moving out of home and getting married, but somehow I never felt I’d got there. But now I actually feel like I’ve made it. In the brief interval of sun on Sunday, I bought potted plants in the hope that this summer I will actually get to spend some time around greenery without being rained on. I think it’s because when you buy a potted plant, it says you are staying put in your current home, and are responsible enough not to kill everything in your care. Very grown up. If I kill the plant, does that mean that I have failed at adulthood? Time will tell. Anyway, I type this on a table that is now shared by a tiny bitter orange tree. But what I’m posting today is not as gloriously sunny as those lovely little oranges, because after stumbling exhausted through a day of rain and fog I wanted comfort in a bowl. And I wanted to put cheese on it. And I wanted to eat it all with a spoon.

orangetree

Ingredients:
250g veggie sausages
1 onion
2 gloves garlic
1 red pepper
250g mushrooms
1 tin chopped tomatoes
1 spring rosemary
1 tbsp olive oil
220g pasta
grated cheddar, to serve (optional)

Serves 4
Calories: 410
Takes 50 minutes to make

Stage one: Slice the veggie sausages, finely chop the onion and crush/chop the garlic. Cook them with the olive oil in a large saucepan over a medium heat until the onions have gone translucent – this will take 5-8 minutes. Meanwhile, wash and slice the mushrooms and red pepper, and pull apart the rosemary. When the onion is done, add the mushrooms, pepper and rosemary, and cook for a further 10 minutes.

sausageveg

Stage two: Add the chopped tomatoes, season well, and simmer. While the sauce is simmering, cook the pasta. I know 220g doesn’t seem like that much pasta for four, but trust me, it’s a seriously filling dish. Then mix everything together, and serve with some grated cheese.

sausagepasta

Leave a Reply

